Looking for advice on printers... please.

I am thinking about buying a large format printer. I have just started researching printers online and there is an

almost overwhelming amount of information to digest. I think that it may be less costly in the end to be able to do my

own quality prints on archival paper than sending them to a lab, especially when I am not always happy with the results. I wonder if I would have more control over the colour if I did my own prints. The cost of some of the high-end printers is quite high. I don't know if it is worth the investment, especially when the cost of ink is another consideration.

The Epson Stylus Pro 3800 has grabbed my attention. At $1,300. it is affordable. The company claims that their

Ultrachrome K3 ink is state-of-the-art. I am just wondering if anyone has experience with this, or some other similar

printer that works well?

I have been using a HP DeskJet 832c printer for many years. I believe I bought it in 1998. This has been the

ultimate workhorse. I use it all the time and it has never broken down, or given me any problems. While my family

and friends printers come and go this one just keeps chugging along. It has to be one of the most reliable printers

ever designed. The photography prints look good to people who aren't too picky but they aren't proffessional, and

the size is limited.

If anyone has thoughts, information or experience they would like to share I would be very grateful. I always get

great advice here at PN and I appreciate it.

Thank you.

Linda

<p>Watch out for the cost of ink. It can easily swamp the price of the printer itself.</p>

<p>I use a Canon Pixma Pro9500, and I'm very pleased with it. It does 16" width max.</p>

<p>It uses Lucia pigment-based inks, which are supposed to be archival, and yield excellent prints. A full set of 12 cartridges is only about $120. In contrast, the Epson cartridges can run over $50 EACH, with a full set up in the $700 range.</p>