Long exposure for digital camera

daniel_b.

Hi All,

First I'd like to say what a great forum you all have here. I've been

a "lurker" for quite some time and post just a little bit on some

other photography boards.

I am a beginner photographer/hobbyist. I have a Canon Rebel Ti and am

thinking about upgrading to either a Canon Digital Rebel or 20D.

My question is this: With the digital cameras coming out now, when

you do longer night time exposures (20, 30, 60 minutes or longer),

how is the overall image quality? Is there a significant difference

between film and digital under these circumstances?

Many thanks in advance for any guidance you kind folks can give. I

apologize if this has been asked before. I tried searching and didn't

find anything after 20 minutes of reading.

Take care and thanks!

Daniel

I haven't tried exposures that long yet but I hope to try my hand at astrophotography with my 20D soon as I can counterbalance the weight on my telescope. I understand that long exposures increase the noise in the image over time. The 20D has a long exposure noise filter you can enable for that and I have read some other posts discussing combining multiple shorter exposures or subtracting in photoshop to clear up the image. The Rebel doesn't have such a filter.

<p>Last night and today I did a fairly extensive noise characterization of my personal 'walking around' camera - a Canon 10D. As part of this I took a four hour exposure at room temperature of the inside of my lens cap at ISO 100. I was astonished to find that the noise hadn't yet crept to a third of the way up the histogram. I can't say my other (far more expensive) camera is nearly that good.