Locating Honest Travel Companion

nancy s.

I have been traveling to the western US on an annual basis since 2002. For

most of those trips I traveled with someone who was equally interested in

photography as well as able to enjoy some of the other adventures such trips

have to offer.

That situation has changed and, while I have not a single reservation about

traveling alone or with my Dog, it would be nice to have someone along to

share driving and expenses and offer idea exchange.

The question is how to find an honest travel companion (drug free) who will be

interested in getting up early in the morning to catch the light and also not

object to doing other things as well (I like to hike and ride horse back, for

instance).

I am considering a trip across country in about 18 months to Montana, Idaho

and Washington/Oregon (assuming I can find the money for such an adventure).

I have been considering different travel methods from flying or taking the

train to driving and then mixing up the accommodations between camping and

motels.

Every time I begin to consider the idea of a travel companion I find myself

reconsidering and thinking that going alone with my dog would be better....

However, I thought I would throw this out here to more experienced travelers

and see what you all could advise on the finding a trust-worthy travel

companion.

I certainly don't recommend craig's list.

You could try getting involved with a local photography club. Also trying out a local outdoor club might work. Before I met my wife I was starting to get very involved with the Maryland Outdoor club (of course a few states away from you :D ). There were a number of people in the club who probably would have been up for a similar sort of trip.