Linhof Technika II 9x12cm

darko1

I am new to large format, altought I have read a lotabout LF equipment I

still did not have practical expiriences to use one....I am common in MF, have

Hasselblad 500 C/M, Mamiya 645, Yashica 124G, Rolleiflex Automat...etc, I am

looking for a good entry level LF camera...where I can learn a lot...I hava a

chance to by Linhof Technika II 9x12cm, 1936 with 3 lenses (150,90 & 250), can

I use this camera with 4x5 film or is there any difference, or you think that

there is a another better entry level start for me.....

--darko

To tell you the throught not much is different when it comes to the fuction of the view cameras! I have a Linhof Teknica III! It works fine I love it and I wouldn't change it for anything else!

But the lenses went throught a lot's of things! Coating it is! look into it! If the lenses are at least single coated than you don't have to deal with a lot's of chromatic abberations but it do have an effect your colour work! The lenses you could get with the camera are okay you hawe a wide normal and the longer lens! It do you almost all type of work!

I don't know the Linhofs, but a 9x12 will not take a 4x5 film holder, if that is what you're asking.

Any Linhof experts out there? Can you answer whether the back on the camera can be changed, and is it worth it? (Would it be cheaper just to get a Linhof with the 4x5 back?)

9x12 is a nice format, if you have the film holders and if you can get the film.

I have a Technika II that was modified (not by me) to take 3-1/4 x 4-1/4 sheet film holders. Since both holders and film is readily available I have used it (lens is a Zeiss Protar) a number of times with great success.

I imagine that it could be modified for 4x5 but that would likely be expensive. The Technika III (which I also have) has more extensive movements, easier availability of lensboards and can use any available 4x5 film with modern holders. They are reasonably priced and often come with 3 lenses.