Linhof Color 4x5/9x12 cm

Discussion in 'Large Format' started by darko|1, Oct 17, 2006.

1. As I am new to LF, and got a chance to change my Mamiya 645 system for almost
    in mint condition Linhof Color 4x5/9x12 cm + Schneider-Kreuznach Xenar 150/4.5
    and 5 9x12 cm holders+macro extension rail, I have some questions and need
    answers,:))....

1.Where I can find specifications for this camera,till today I tought I have
    Linhof color kardan, but now I have discover that it is not same camera, my
    looks almost like Technika IV or V, need some advices about front/back
    tilt/swing coverage, and some usefull tips....please consider that I am novice
    to LF if I my questions are bit strange.....

2.Also got Schneider-Kreuznach Angulon 120/6,8 (uncoated),think that is prewar
    lens....any thoughts???

3.Also I have mounted on a lensboard Carl Zeiss Tessar 105/4.5 (prewar-
    uncoated)...can I espect some results from this lens, it was quite good to me
    on a Zeiss Icarette 6x9.....shooting b&w....

If you find some simple and usefull advices for me, please help novice....

..darko

2. Congratulations and welcome to Linhof.

Useful resources -

1. the home page for Linhof:

http://linhof.de/

2. cameraquest to examine Linhofs:

http://www.cameraquest.com/classics.htm

3. Large Format Forum - many people to discuss your Linhof:

http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/

...Vick

3. This is a wonderful viewcamera, Darko. However it is heavy as sin! I loved mine for inside work, but it broke me down lugging that weight around. Be careful you carefully evaluate what you want to use the camera for. I found it was unsuitable for outdoor work - for me - further than a short walking distance from the car.

4. The naming of Linhof cameras is as confusing as the numbering of Zeiss stuff. It's not really clear which camera you have. Can you post a picture?

5. Bill, the Color is also known as the Technika-on-a-rail. That help?