Lightroom Newbee needs help

<p>I am evaluating LIghtroom for personal use (I am not a pro, but I take lots of pictures). How do you longterm Lightroom users deal with capacity limitations? Do you seperate your catalog from your pictures and keep it in a different folder or even on a different drive?(In his book Kelby claims this will lead to chaos, but I am not sure why)?<br>

I typically fill up a 1TB drive per year with just my RAW files and another 1TB for my Master and Print Files from those RAWs. I then archive them at year's end and start all over again. I want my catalog to be much more long lived - I want to be able to go back ten years from now and search for pictures I took today and point me to the appropriate files.</p>

<p>Just this year I started using a new catalog just for 2009. My older catalog has some 50,000+ images in it. I keep the catalog database on a drive separate from the actual images. I keep an active backup on a large external USB drive. The utility I use watches the folders that have catalog and image files and makes copies.<br>

1TB a year sounds like a lot. That will definitely drop off when you use Lightroom. All image edits are non destructive. I have my one original RAW file and the 4 or 5 tweaks be it black and white, sepia, cropped, etc. only exist in the Lightroom catalog. So whatever image you have 5 copies of will suddenly become one physical file on your hard drive and just adjustments that live in sidecar files (which I still don't fully understand yet) or in the Lightroom catalog. I export the version(s) I want in JPG. Post it then delete the JPG (not immediately but eventually once I've posted it to the web sites I subscribe to).<br>

A warning about keeping images on hard drives that are not in use. According to the guys on This Week in Photography it's not good to keep hard drives on the shelf and not power them up every few months.<br>

Hope this helps.</p>

<p> </p>