Lightroom 2.1 using all my memory

<p>Hello all,<br>

The specs<br>

Vista Pro 64Bit<br>

lots of HD space (>160GB avail, 2TB avail on NAS)<br>

lots of memory (8GB)<br>

Lightroom 2.1 uses all my CPU, all Memory 90-99% and 95% or 7.3GB of Memory according to Task Manager<br>

Have dismantled even removed, rebooted LR and reinstalled<br>

Have disengaged Antivirus<br>

Yet still, LR opens up and the entire systeme crawls to a halt.<br>

It doesn't do this on my Laptop (Vista 32bit, 3GB memory)<br>

I have a feeling it's the Dell computer components, but I don't want to seem the Dell Hater here, but I can't come up with anyway to reconfigure, I'm a professional photographer, no day job during the week save making albums and post processing for my clients. So my workflow has been kind of well established and there is no real workaround when using RAW files.</p>

<p>So is there anything I might have missed in this? Someconflict that is going on with LR and another program?<br>

No, I haven't updated or changed, or added any programs lately, or within the last 3 months, but within the last week LR2.1 has just crawled to a halt.<br>

THanks for the help.<br>

Daniel</p>

<p>Interesting. I have much less memory on my PC and at times my PaintShop Pro Photo X2 runs out of grunt - If I find it getting sluggish when I check the fee RAM I always find it to be pretty low - down in some cases to non existent. When I experimented with LR, (trial version) I found the same. I have assumed these image editors are just memory hogs and that over a long working session with the PC being forced to keep track of multiple changes to whatever files are open it just runs out of puff. I have found that if I then run a RAM cleaner utility I can often claw back quite a lot of memory - for a while, till it happens again.<br>