Light shapping

gaconvnnguyen

Hi @gaconvnnguyen, I'm just an amateur photographer and I don't take many 'portaits'. For most of my 'people photos', I don't have many opportunities to 'shape light'. Professional photographers have much more experience with 'light shaping' than I do. To be honest, I wasn't familiar with the term 'light shaping' but I have some (amateur) experience with some basic techniques and tools.

From what I've read, "Light shaping" basically means adjusting (adding, subtracting, focusing, diffusing, coloring) light to come from and go to where you want it to, with the quality (intensity, focus/diffusion, color, etc.) that you want. For me, that's just part of 'Lighting' but I was interested to see that it's now a separate topic, so thanks for your question!

IMHO, the purpose of 'shaping light' is to create the (luminosity) tones in the photo that the photographer wants. In a studio or closed setting, the photographer has full control over lighting and can design his/her lighting set-up from scratch. In other settings (open locations, indoor or outdoor), the photographer chooses (where possible) the local lighting conditions and through 'light shaping' makes adjustments to these. There are various tools for light shaping. These including different kinds of artificial lights, flashes, reflectors, diffusers, blockers, shutters, filters, etc.

How important light shaping is, depends very much on the types of photos you take and where. But lighting is always important in photography and there are always ways of influencing this. The most important thing is to be aware of 'light quality' in general and how best to use/shape it.