Light birding combo

fast_birder

<p>Hi,<br>

which Canon body would you recommend for a lightweight fast autofocus birding combo kit with 400mm f/5.6 lens?<br>

40D, 50D, 7D?<br>

Please feel free to elaborate, since I am new to Canon and I may not find many things obvious . :-)<br>

Thank you very much.</p>

<p>If you can afford it go with the 7D this has the best (non-1 series) AF I have used from Canon and is a great camera - it's problem is high ISO. It very good up to ISO 400, starts to get a bit noisy at ISO 800 but with care you can print up to about 11x17 without a real problem. In my opinion ISO 1600 is really not usable. I doubt if the 50D is any better at high ISO and it will not have the same AF as the 7D. The 40D may be better at high ISO but again the AF will be inferior. The 7D is a great rugged camera with fast AF but is is really limited to lower ISOs and wider apertures (probably no more than F11 but I have not fully tested it yet) due to diffraction effects with the very dense sensor. At ISO 400 the quality is very good and the AF is hard to beat. in my opinion it is not a full general purpose body (a role my 5DII fills much better) as it is weak at high at ISO and lacks the wide angle capability of a full frame body. At low ISO the resolution is very good - here is a shot of the Dog taken this morning at ISo 400 with the cheap 18-135 kit lens. Exposure is 1/80 at 135mm and F5.6 - the dog was actually moving quite quickly but every shot was in focus.</p><div>00Uinf-179643884.jpg.eeb1600354d00e583698d4899710e5f8.jpg</div>

<p>Again with the 7D high-ISO complaints? I don't see any noise AT ALL in the last posted photograph. Digital camera noise has been excellent at ISO 1600 for years in all models. Newest gen cameras like the 7D look great up to 3200 or 6400. This decision has to come down to something more concrete than "noise".</p>