Life with a D300

marklcooper

<p>

<p>Life with my D300.</p>

<p>I'm an amateur photographer. My first and only film SLR is a Nikon FE purchased new in 1978 and used through 2008. It still is in excellent working condition, but getting film processed and printed was becoming more and more aggravating. Developing and printing at home was not an option. I purchased an Epson scanner with negative inserts in the early 2000's, but dust removal was a pain so I ended up not using it very much. I also purchased an Epson P2200 printer at the same time. I often use the printer now. I purchased my first dSLR, the D300, in 2008. I chose not to go digital until Nikon produced a camera that fit my requirements. It had to work with my old lenses. It had to have decently high ISO quality. It had to have good control placement. The command and sub-command wheels are totally natural to me. I normally shoot in Aperture Priority mode as that is what I used on my FE for 30 years. The camera had to be robust.</p>

<p>I purchased my D300 on September 11, 2008 and now have 13,013 (actually 3,014 showing because the D300 rolls over at 9,999) pictures on the odometer. After reading all the reviews and threads available on photo.net I purchased the following:<br>

1 - Nikon D300 body only<br>

1 - Nikkor AF-S 17-55 f/2.8 G ED<br>

1 - 77mm Nikon protection filter<br>

1 - MB-D10 Grip<br>

2 - extra EN-EL3e batteries (in addition to the battery that came with the D300)<br>

2 - SanDisk 8 GB Extreme III CompactFlash Cards<br>

1 - David Busch's Nikon D300 Guide to Digital SLR Photography</p>

<p>In February 2009 I purchased:<br>

1 - 70-200mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom Nikkor Lens<br>

1 - 77mm Nikon protection filter</p>

<p>In December 2009 I purchased<br>

1 - Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash</p>

<p>After reading many of the questions posted on the Nikon forum over the last 14 months or so I'd like to address some of the issues as follows.</p>

<p><strong>Picture file format</strong><br>