LF Photographers that are Musicians

jeffrey_scott

I am curious whether any of you are musicians as it seems many

photographers are or were also musicians such as St. Ansel, who in

fact was a musician first just as I was/am. I play electric bass semi

professionally, see www.rareblend.net . What do you play , did it

come first, do you see any connection, etc? Want to jam?

yes jeffrey - ive been playing guitar and piano for over 30 years, and my wife is a professional flutist. my favorite things in life are vintage albumen photos and expensive microphones. for the past several years, ive owned a recording studio here in salem, oregon, and have produced two commercial CDs for my wife's flute and harp duo, RoseWynde. please go give them a listen at www.mp3.com/rosewynde (you might like "Caoineadh Cu Chulainne" from Riverdance).

it is also worth noting that not only do many artists have musical talents, many famous scientists, such as einstein, were avid and quite skilled musicians.<div>003ybU-10078484.jpg.b5b60f53198ff6002f2cd769e3276258.jpg</div>

Back in the early 80's I was an engineer in a small recording studio where we recorded to a half track Ampex ATR-102 and various AG-440 recorders running Dolby A. We had a very nice selection of Neumann, AKG, Shoeps and other various vintage RCA and Altec microphones, both tube and solid state. Mostly we recorded small classical and jazz ensembles, on occasion we would record the Columbus Symphony Orchestra. We also recorded various programs for NPR like "All Things Considered" and music programs such as "Adventures in Good Music" with Carl Haas. It is nice to know that we can be creative in various endeavors artistically.