Lessons from conducting beginner workshops.

<p>There was a question in an earlier formum about the teaching of beginners. This is my experience in a belated answer to that question. Last November I was asked to conduct a series of workshops for photography novices by a local artist association. After some planning and publicity in January of this year I conducted four workshops of two hours apiece for twenty people. I originally started out to present four separate two hour sessions but due to demand from the initial participants for more; two of the four turned out to be continuations of the first two sessions. There was a nominal charge for each session. My background is seven years in my own photo business where I did weddings, PR, portraits, etc. and about the same amount of time with a newspaper doing general news and sports. I had my own studio and film darkroom. I converted to digital in 2002 and do most of my own printing. I asked paricipants to bring their cameras and manuals and not to forget charged batteries and cards. Most of these participants were artists who wanted to learn photography so there was a general understanding of composition and color. They came with all manner of cameras from P&S to DSLRs. Frankly, the P&Ss presented the most difficulty because they are so different from brand to brand. And, they are, of course the least flexible. In DSLRs there were Canon, Nikon, Sony, and Konica/Minolta.</p>

<p>The actual sessions went quite well. Subjects covered were: Participant experience and expectations, participant cameras briefly, switches batteries, cards, etc., how the camera processes light(aperture, ISO, shutter speed) which took some time, noise, ISO, focus, DoF, high contrast, What P, TV, Av, M on Canon, P, S, A, M(Nikon, Sony) means on the camera (none of them really knew), sensor sizes and their apparent effect on lenses, a general discussion of lenses, white balance etc.</p>