the question: I keep hearing conflicting things about the lenses for

digital cameras ? that I might have real problems using my Tamron

lenses with a digital camera because of electrical conflicts or

something of this type. I have heard that I might have trouble using

any non-Minolta lens with the new digital camera. I have also heard

that this problem is generic to digital cameras regardless of

manufacturer. Is this information valid or not? I can?t quite figure

out why my lenses would perform differently with digital versus

film, but then again I have yet to use digital for anything serious.

Any feedback will be very welcome.

Hi Irene, I have no firsthand experience with Minolta or Tamron (I shoot Canon) but I do think it's possible you could run into compatibility problems with new digital cameras and any 3rd party lens. There have been quite a few problems with Sigma lenses on Canon bodies, but in many cases Sigma will re-chip the lens thus fixing the incompatibility. Perhaps Tamron could do something similar, but I wouldn't count on it. Since the camera you are considering isn't available yet, no one can tell you for sure unfortunately. Perhaps when it is available you could try your lenses on a Minolta body in a camera store. I'd also ask Tamron what their policy is in case your lenses have problems. Good luck!

I'd have to disagree with Beau. I don't think Minolta would be wise to engineer a camera with poor compatibility with existing lenses - event thrid party ones in Minolta mount. After all, if existing owners of Minolta mount lenses are principally hanging on to them in the hope of being able to use them on a Minolta DSLR, and news leaks that they don't work with the new camera, it will just give those people every incentive to dump their glass and buy Nikon or Canon instead. As a minimum I'd guess that anything that works with a Dynax 7 film body with work with the new DLSR, since that's the body the new model is based on.