Lens suggestion for a beginner; Nikon 55-200mm VR or Sigma/Tamron?

mike_stoddart

<p>I bought a D90 a few months ago with the standard 18-55mm lens. I'm completely new to DSLR and also to the fundamentals of photography beyond point and shoot cameras, but I'm very slowly trying to learn.</p>

<p>I would like to get a telephoto lens but I can't decide if I should get a lens that would also replace my 18-55mm or if I should get the Nikon 55-200mm VR to complement my 18-55mm. My budget is very low; I don't see any point in buying an expensive lens given my lack of knowledge.</p>

<p>I've read a lot about various lenses and I'm wondering if a Sigma or Tamron, e.g. 18-250mm, would suffice. Or is my best bet Nikon's 55-200mm VR?</p>

<p>Thanks</p>

<p>Avoid the super zooms (especially those that are stopped down past f/5.6 at the long end - you'll have autofocus trouble to go along with having less light to use). Since you already have the 18-55, I think the 55-200 is a sensible and modestly priced next step. But depending on what you're planning to shoot, a 70-300 might make more sense, and they too can be had for pretty reasonable prices. The gap between 55mm and 70mm isn't going to hurt you too badly, but the 70-300 is going to look a lot better at 200mm than the 55-200 is.</p>

<p>How are you using your photos? If you're not printing huge, any of these will do nicely if you're careful. I went with the 70-300, but it is kinda big (not real heavy though). The 55-200 is so nice and small and compact, if you're looking to stay small, it's a nice option. The 55-300 is better, but at that price, I'd skip to the 70-300 which I am guessing will be a superior lens, certainly in handling.</p>