lens exclusively for portraits

tess_ran

<p>Hi I am a total beginner to slr cameras so please excuse my ignorance with camera terminology. Ive just bought an entry level camera nikon d3100 . It came with the standard 18-55mm lens . If i just used this lens what kind of results will i get for portraits. If its not really suitable for portrait shots can someone give me some advice for a good lens to buy. I was researching on the dx f/1.8G. Would this give me better results. Its within my price range .So any advice would be appreciated.</p>

<p>i guess you mean the 50/1.8G -- which came out recently. that lens can have a much wider aperture than your current lens, which will allow you to blur the background a lot more than the zoom -- which at 50mm has a max aperture of f/5.6. that's the primary advantage. on the other hand, a lot of photographers prefer a somewhat "longer" focal length for portraits, say 85mm. nikon makes an 85/1.8, but it isn't a G lens, so it won't auto-focus on your camera. bummer. so unless you can spring for a lot more expensive 85/1.4G lens, the 50 is probably a pretty good option. at the price, you really can't go wrong. and if you decide you don't like it, you can probably sell it at not much of a loss.</p>