Leica R4 Questions

Hello, I am completely new to Leica SLR cameras. I did a search but

could not seem to find the right answers. I have been thinking

about buying a Leica R4s. What is the difference between that and

the R4? Is the R4s a reliable camera? Does it have built-in

diopters in the viewfinder or will it take diopters in the

viewfinder? Any overall opinions regarding the R4s or any other

Leica R camera would be much appreciated. I will be using the

camera sparingly- some street shooting, family, vacations etc.

All the "R" series except for the last two, are just rebadged Minoltas. Their electronics have a bad reputation for unreliability. Why would you want to invest in overpriced and obsolete Leica equipment to make occasional snapshots of your wife and kids?

Thanks Bill, that is just the type of answer I am looking for. A friend of mine has one of these and raves about it. I have held it a couple times and liked the way it felt, handled, etc. But I have heard stories about unreliablity in these cameras. I would also like to use the Leica lenses, but if the camera scares me off, I will probably go back to my Nikon F3 system which I regrettably sold a few years ago.

Leica R cameras, models SL, SL2, R6 & later models are rewarrantiable by Leica, whereas other R models are not. You might want to take that into consideration before jumping into a purchase. Honestly IMHO, if you are merely planning on using the camera sparingly, don't waste your money, you won't be able to match the capabilities of the glass or film with so little use. Get a good consumer grade SLR (film or digital), you'll have more fun for less expense.

Rick, there are quite a bit of mis inforamtion on the web about R4

such as "rebadged Minolta" extra. R4 was a the result of cooperation

between Minolata and Leica, the body by Minolta, the reflex mirror

mechanisam and the exposure meter electronics were all by Leica.