Leica Newbie: Elmar, Summar, Summarit, etc... what does it all mean!

stuart_todd

Hiya,

I'm very new to this Leica shenanigans and it's seems as confusing to

me as the Hasselblad system was this time last year... now I know

what the differences are between a Planar, Distagon, Sonnar, Chrome,

T*, B50, B60, 500C, 501CM, etc.

I'm intending to buy a Voigtlander Bessa R soon and have been looking

at the range of available second hand screw mount lenses. However

there seems to be 3-5 different Lecia 50mm lenses all with different

names and the Elmar lens type is available from 35mm through to 90mm

focal lengths.

Sure I know the name indicates the lens design used, but what are the

major differences?

Also many retails also offer the prefix of the serial number on the

lens, is this similar to Hasselblad system so that you can work the

year the lens was made?

And I keep seeing this strange code popping up (eg. LVFOO or

something else with lots Os in it), what does these codes mean and

should I know about them before dishing out that hard earned cash?

Is there a Leica system for Dummies website or something like Canon's

Camera Museum (www.canon.com/camera-museum) for Leica?

Many thanks in advance,

Stu :)

PS. If it's any help I'm looking at getting a 50mm, 35mm and a 90mm

lenses.