Leica m6 ttl 0.58 with 50mm lens.

hazem

<p>Hello Guys,<br />I am brand new to Leica Rangefinder, I have used Leica-R8 for years with 28 f/2.8 & 35-70mm f/4 macro. (just love this kit).</p>

<p>Yesterday I got a leica M6 ttl 0.58 black chrome, beautiful one (Mint in a box).</p>

<p>I went for the M6 TTL 0.58 as I'll use it for street photography mainly with wide lenses in low light, such as night, indoors, etc..<br />I have three quick questions:</p>

<p>1- which one is best lens -as i have only budget for one lens now- should i go for 28mm or 35mm ?<br />2- Is it true what i read in few sites that focusing the 50mm on the 0.58 finder is a very problematic? is it really difficult or what is the issue about? - keep in mind- I'll never buy any focal lenth for my Leica M6 Rangefinder more than 50mm anyway. so my worry stops here at the focus issue with 50mm.<br />3- What is the real benefit of the TTL on the M6? When it would be a great help for the photographer?</p>

<p>I'd appreciate your responds & advices, many thanks in advance.<br />Cheers,</p>

<p>I have one and I love it. I'd go for the 35mm lens first; but that is me. The Summicron 50/2 works very nicely on the M6TTL .058. I have heard you can even use the Nocitlux 50/1 with this camera. I think the TTL flash option is fine if you have the proper TTL flash. The large shutter speed dial is a pleasure to use, though it goes in the opposite direction of the M classics.</p>

<p>The choice of focal length is really down to what you want to achieve and your photographic style. I'm sure you know that difference in view between a 28mm and a 35mm is quite small, though <em>not </em>insignificant. Which do <em>you </em>use most? The 35mm f2 (late pre-aspheric version) is popular and well-respected for very many reasons. Performance of that version is better, overall, than with the 28mm Elmarit.</p>