Leica IIIf, Leica M3, or Bessa-R2?

nick_g2

Sorry it's a bit to read but I would really appreciate a response...

Im a student and working photographer, i already have a large Canon SLR outfit for "work"

but i dont really want to be lugging around all that stuff when im just out and about. It's

also not very practicle to use an eos-3 w/power drive booster and a 85 f/1.2 lens for

street photography... its to big and intimidates people. so i want to get a rangefinder for

"non-work" photography. Ive narrowed my decision down to the following 3 RF's : the IIIf,

M3, or Bessa R2. My main factors in purchasing one of these is...

1. Size : It needs to be able to fit in a pocket or hang from a neck strap without being

much of a nuisance.

2. Intimidation : I don't think any of these will really intimidate someone on the street but

that is why i want it... its doesn't scream "professional", I want to walk up to people and

take pictures without them thinking I work for Time magazine or something.

3. Price : I'm willing to spend between around $500 and a $1,000 for the body and one

50mm lense. That's all I need.

What I've heard

IIIf - Is a pain to load and advance, prone to expensive repairs, but it smallest especially

with a 50mm collapsing lense.

M3 - Expensive, and a bit of a trouble to load...

Bessa R2 - The only real reason im not just buying this camera is size... i haven't found a

place where i can hold one and get a feel for it. But it sounds like its alot bigger than an

IIIf or M3. Does anyone have pictures of someone holding a bessa R2 or it next to a IIIf

or M3.

please tell me your opinion on which camera body to get and possibly which 50mm lense

would be best with it... f/2 or faster...

There is something wonderful about how all the bottom-load LTM cameras fit in the hand. Very compact, dense, solid, smooth.