Leica IIIc question

Quite some time passed since my last post; lots of things going on in my life

more bad than good that kept me far from photography. I've read the forum

though and I must say it was uplifting, in particular the sense of humor.

Gene M's comments on his found film series are something else. So I have to

thank you all for making this forum a place to be even when you feel down.

I managed to get my hands on a Leica IIIc recently. It comes from a fellow

photog and it was very well cared for (CLA done to the body and lens by known

technician) so it looks great and works great.

I'm in process of taking pictures and will post them on a separate thread.

Down to my question of the day: since I'm a newbie in the world of Leica (quite

a nasty world I must say...) would any one know if I can fit a FSU Jupiter 12

lens 1:2.8/ 35 mm on this body. I'm intrigued by the size of the rear lens

elements extending way past the metal thread. Same extension should fit inside

the body but would this not touch the curtains? I also have a FSU turret

viewfinder if the 35mm works. Thanks

It should work just fine. The clearances inside the Leica are the same as inside the Zorki-1 which is the body on which many of the Jupiters were used. Just be careful mounting the lens so you don't scratch the back element. It doesn't touch the curtains or the metal curtain lathes(assuming that they are not flapping or loose. Have fun.

-Paul