Leaving for Oahu next week--interesting spots to photograph?

robertbrown

I'm off to Hawaii in a few days--tagging along on a business trip

with my wife. While she attends meetings all day, I'll be driving

around Oahu hiking, photographing, and catching a few rays. We're

only going to be there for four full days, so we'll just be on one

island. In general, I don't like crowds or big cities much. At heart

I'm a landscape photographer and I show photos frequently in

galleries. I'm relatively new to iStock and stock photography in

general. I'll bring along a Hasselblad, Canon 20D with a few lenses,

and maybe an Xpan.

I'd be interested in suggestions for interesting, unusual, and

relatively uncrowded places to photograph and hike. Also interested

in restaurant and beverage (both bar and good coffee)

recommendations. We're staying at some place on Waikiki and probably

stay on foot at night.

Thanks for any suggestions,

Bob

We moved here about 6 months ago, and I found a book on Amazon that was perfect for discsovering the island--link below. Don't worry if you cannot get it before you go, as it will not be hard to find here once you arrive. Manoa Falls will probably not be too far from where you are staying (trailhead maybe a 15 minute drive from Waikiki), and is a beautful location (picture below).

Enjoy!

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0896103145/qid=1136614058/sr=8-1/ref=sr_8_xs_ap_i1_xgl14/103-0234430-8481415?n=507846&s=books&v=glance<div>00Ela2-27363584.jpg.04652bb793165432fb8d2371fceecc93.jpg</div>

Go out to Makapuu, by Sea Life Park. There's a light house and a great look out that gives you a good view of the windward coast along sandy's. You might be lucky to catch a glimpse of a humpback or two as well. You can also glimpse a similar view from the top of Diamond head and that's a leisurely stroll up a lot of stairs...

Drive up to Tantalus for an overview of Honolulu, but that ends up being more of a cityscape.