LCD viewfinder for Digital SLR?

nikonika

Nikon is my favorite, and I have my eyes on D70s. However, my hope

is that digital SLRs could come up with LCD viewfinder - is that a

possibility in the near future? I am willing to wait. I am sure

there is not crystal ball, but I would like to get an idea of what

forum thinks about this as future tech? Thanks.

Most folks who have used SLRs for years can't see much of any upside to an LCD viewfinder. What we cherish about a decent SLR view is seeing through the taking lens in real time and evaluating focus, depth of field, etc.

The few LCD viewfinders I have seen had annoying latency issues (panning with the camera made me feel like I was drunk) and you sure couldn't evaluate critical focus with them.

I am not a professional. Just a regular family guy, trying to shoot family pictures, and have some fun. These days almost everything has LCD, and it is popular because it is very convenient to use in regular day to day life. I do not disagree with the advantages of optical, but you always have that option when you want to get creative. Your point is well taken.