Large Format Focusing architecture (focusing in a hangar)

gigi cidadi

Hi People,

before I am going to photograph I am studying, knowing more or less the scene, where to focus to keep the whole image in focus. I am going to a hangar where the main subject (big pillars about six meters large and four meter height) are placed all around the perimetry wall. My idea is to stop down at f32 using a 240mm lens. Now, to keep all in focus where I need to focus (keeping whole the pillar in the image. Tilt cannot be used (the roof will be not sharp). Can I use the 1/3 rule or it is better to focus on the subject and stop down at f 32, knowing that I will be at 8 or 10 meters from the pillar?

Linhot camera IV ( 5x4 ) / lens 240mm Fujinon

Thank you

Luigi

Good luck focussing in a dark hangar at f/32. I hope your night vision is good!

Focus where the main subject is and stop down more than f/32 if your lens will let you.

The 1/3rd distance guideline only works at landscape distances. As you focus closer, the depth-of-field split becomes increasingly 50:50, until at lifesize it is totally symmetrical fore and aft of the subject. So this is where a 'hyperfocal' or DoF calculator would be more than useful.

With a C-o-c suitable for 5"x4", my DoF calculator gives me figures of 6m near focus, and 29m far focus for a 240mm lens @ f/32 focussed at 10m.

Of course a wider lens will give you a lot more DoF for the same aperture, but not for the same field of view.

A 150mm lens gets you from 3m to near infinity when focussed at 6m at f/32.

Edited by rodeo_joe|1

Dear Joe,

thank you for your answer, very nice of you.

The hangar has roof windows so I might have a fair vision of the scene. 5x4 is the format.