Large Format Focal Plane Metering

davidgooding

Hi All,

It's been quite a few years since I was last on here.

I'm not actually a photographer! I don't have the artistic skill necessary for that and am an engineer by trade and nature instead.

A few years ago I made a post here about whether a low-cost focal-plane metering system for large format cameras would be a useful product, after having developed one for my father (he has a Sinar P), and I got quite a bit of positive response and helpful suggestions.

After that, life got in the way and I did nothing much further with it. However, more recently, after having refined the design and providing a few more for large format photography hobbyists (and developing it further each time with their input), I have decided to take this further. I have therefore put in some effort over the past year to productionise the design, have produced a production batch, and am now taking steps towards marketing it.

Basically it consists of a metering frame, which is inserted in place of the film carrier, which contains a metering probe which can be moved around the image to meter at specific points in the image. There's a picture below to give the general idea.

At the time I originally started this, there were other meters of a similar concept on the market but at prices that were out of reach of many. The aim here was to produce a more basic, but still accurate, useful and reliable, meter at a much more affordable price.

Do people consider that this is a useful product, and one which people would seriously consider at the price point I can achieve (£120, or roughly US$160, or Euro 140)?

Are there any suggestions, questions or comments on the design?

Do significant numbers of people still use film anyway?

I have put it up on the internet here if anyone is interested in taking a closer look - www.dlgelectronics.com. I'll go further with this if people think it worthwhile.