Laptop as bigger preview screen

subho basu

Hi to all...........

I was interested in using my laptop tethered to my camera and review the shots instantly. I found a discussion about

Pentax remote assistant in the other forum. So I played with it a little bit.

I used "separate screen display" option in view. The view is on the opening screen of remote assistant v3. That gave

a screen of approx 5X4 inches size on my laptop screen which was as big as a LF viewfinder. This was much better

option than to review my shots on the camera LCD. Also I could change any setting on the camera and fire the

camera from my laptop. I felt like I was a true pro :-)

Just wanted to share this with you guys.

Subho

That is really cool, Subho. I just looked at the Remote Assistant feature set and didn't know that it had capability for interval timers as well. That could come in very handy for many types of shots!

I am going to download RA 3.51 and try it over the weekend...cheers, Jeff

Little tip...Buy an Acer Aspire One, or Asus EEE or MSI Windbook, Or any of the new 10in or under "netbooks". (HP, Lenovo, etc all make them now)

As I type this on my Aspire One, I can tell you these are great little machines.

8.9in screen, and form factor exactly 1/2 the size of a 14 inch laptop. Weighs 2lbs and runs for over 3 hours with wifi turned off...although that includes dimming screen. However, the battery is about the size of 6 AA (in 2 columns of 3) so carrying a spare for at least 4 hours of full power screen should be plenty for most people.

I got this mainly for travel, and also to load detailed TOPO maps on to use with my GPS receiver for locating trail heads. The highly hacked car GPS works well for general navigation but this is way more powerful and can use multiple mapping programs avail for almost no cost.