Lab Prints too dark for the 2nd time! Newbie, please help!

Hello, I am a newbie trying to get my photos to match their printing output but

they keep coming out too dark (or dim, they don't "pop," are dull- take your

pick). So please hang in there with me...

Here's the problem:

I am working with a very well respective print lab (suggested by the members of

PN). It is obvious that their quality of prints is outstanding by the first set

of test proofs I received from them, but they appeared too dark. After

discussing this with them, I calibrated my monitor and received a 2nd set of

proofs...and guess what? The proofs still look too dark (and now we're going

for a third set as we speak, hence this post). What am I doing wrong here? I'm

slighly frustrated and in need of the expertise in this forum!

The details:

My camera is set to Adobe RGB; I am working in PSCS3 with Adobe RGB 1998; the

lab will print to Adobe RGB 1998; I have downloaded/installed all of the lab's

ICC profiles for soft proofing; and I've borrowed a friend's eye one display

for monitor calibration.

Now, I'm recalibrating my monitor for a second time with the following

suggested settings:

White point 6500K

Gamma 2.2

Luminance 130cd/m2

My questions are these:

1) When I view my photo image in PS, the color looks fairly saturated (enough

to pop but not overdone according to the histogram), but by no means dark. Yet

when I view the proof from the lab's soft-proofing ICC profile, the image

instantly lightens. (That's right it LIGHTENS, but when I get the test proofs

back they are always DARKER than what my monitor shows, even when viewed in

Adobe 1998!) Why is this?

After the 2nd set of test proofs came back, the lab suggested that I research

what my luminance level was due to the fact that I was using a flat panel

monitor (a Dell 1908FP). They suggested that "some people have difficulties

with brightness levels when using a flat screen monitor and the output of their