Kowa 66 (or just the 6) vs. Bronica S2a? Please recommend for a hobbyist.

bob_chong

I have read a ton of posts about both these cameras, and have read

the stuff by Monoghan and Gonzales about both of these cameras, too.

What I'm wondering is, can anyone provide me with a definite reason

why I should get one versus the other? I am a hobbyist, a longtime

35mm user looking to switch to MF fully. I've played around with

Yashica TLR's and they have been fun, but I'd like to take the next

step up (yet definitely stay under $500 for a full outfit).

I like shooting landscapes and sometimes people. Most of what I

shoot is "nature" type stuff, but city streets are also fun to

shoot. I will never shoot professionally, so what I do is only for

fun. Also, I go through spurts where I'll shoot lots of film and

then not shoot again for a few months. (I'm just trying to make all

info. available.)

The way I see it, the advantage of the Bronica is the availability of

relatively inexpensive lenses. Someday, I'll want more lenses, and

that is attractive to me. However, I guess if the Kowa is superior,

I'll just have to spend the extra dough on the lenses (they seem to

cost twice as much or more than the lenses for the S2a).

Thanks so much,

Bob

I don't know much about the Kowa, I use a Bronica (EC; uses the same lenses as S2A). In Europe (I live in Holland) there are far more lenses and stuff for Bronica than for Kowa. One could get a Kowa with 55,85 and 150 lenses for just a bit more than a S2A with a 50, 75/80 and 135/150. Getting other lenses is not only more expensive but also almost impossible. The extension tubes for Bronica go here for $50 - $80 and are not rare. If you do nature you will like to have them (though the 80 has a nice minimum distance of about 60cm/2feet). A prism goes for around $100. Could you get one for Kowa?