Kodak commercial view camera

Discussion in 'Large Format' started by matthew_stanton|2, Sep 25, 2002.

1. I have just seen a kodak Commercial view camera which is for
    sale at around $200 U.S. in a camera store here in Australia.
    The bellows are a bit patchy but seems to be in quite good
    working order otherwise and is exceptionally light and folds to a
    relatively compact unit. The only problem is that it does not have
    a ground glass or any lens boards.

I have seen a new 8x10 ground glass advertised for sale
    on ebay for $30 U.S. it is said to be the standard thickness of .06
    inches. Does any body know if this thickness ground glass
    would possibly be suitable for such a camera? I have absolutely
    no idea. Also I wonder if i will have a hard time finding suitable
    lens boards. Perhaps they are the same dimensions as the
    master view camera ?

I am new to 8x10 photography and would like to make the
    transition as affordably as possible to start with. Any information
    that can be provided would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

2. I'm sure the glass will work. There is some "play" in the thickness of glass that can be used.
    Lensboards are easily self-made, so I wouldn't let that be a determining factor.

3. The 8x10 "Commercial" view camera is a magnesium version of the old wooden Eastman 2-D. IIRC it uses a 'standard' 6" square lensboard. (Been awhile since I used one). Any groundglass should fit.

4. 1.5 mm (~0.06") seems about right for a ground glass. Most cameras I've used would appear to accept up to 2mm thick glass without a problem. It's when you start trying to force 3mm window glass into them that there's a risk of damage.

5. Matthew,