Kodak 4 x 5 infrared

Discussion in 'Large Format' started by j._l._frost, Aug 28, 2002.

1. I live in a southern Ontario town and I asked 2 local camera stores if
    they can get me Kodak infrared 4 x 5 b & w film. They said yes - but
    the minimum order is 20 boxes. I have read in this forum that this
    film is supossed to be discontinued. Can anyone shed some light on the
    present status of this film and where I might buy 3 or 4 boxes? Thanks
    .... Jack

2. I've seen it occasionally on eBay. Usually out dated. Lol, eh.

3. Well, here's my suggestion: if you really can get fresh HIE (I guess Kodak will custom-make small runs) you should see who else on this forum would like to go in on a run of 20, and split the cost. Did the store owners say how much it would cost? I'm a starving student, but I might even be interested (how fun is food and shelter compared to infrared film?).

4. Does anybody know for sure that kodak will run off a small run of infrared high speed? If anybody can confirm that they will and confirm the cost, I'm interested in splitting the cost.

5. Likewise

6. what cost per box are we taling about?

7. Count me in.

8. Try the source 800-242-2424.

9. leo

leo

Me too (A diet of rice and water works for me:) ).

10. J.L.- I'll help out with a box, too. Let me know what to do. While
    we're on the subject, is a normal bellows material ok for IR?
    Seems I've had a lot of fogging in the past and never pinned
    down the source.
    Thanks
    Gary Meader

11. They will run it. This is not new info but usally the min order is 50 boxes eh. So like if you get an order, like, on the go eh, let me in on it eh, cuz like u know 10 buck is bucks eh!

12. Daniel... what's all the "eh"ing aboot, eh? Are you being a yankie hoser? Or are you a Canuck like Jack and me? :)