Jumping Back In Large Format- Digital Issues?

rick_waldroup3

Hello, I usded to shoot a Wista 8x10, a Toyo 4x5 monorail, and a

Zone VI 4x5 field camera about 12 years ago. I have made a good

living as an architectural photographer for years. I got out of it

for over a decade and am now considering getting back into large

format architectural photography as a living again. So any advice

anyone can give as to equipment, digital backs, etc would be of much

help. What is the market like today? Are most pro architectural

photographers using digital backs now? I am eyeing an old Sinar F

on ebay. Will it accept digital backs? Any advice as to the nature

of architectural photography today would be appreciated. Thanks,

Rick

I'm not a prob, but my impression is that architecture is probably the commercial segment that has least switched to digital. Because of the smaller size of digital sensors compared to traditional formats, wide-angle lenses can be a problem.

A big issue with LF digital for the small or part time business is price. What is called medium and large format digital is typically priced at several times $10k. Scanning backs are cheaper single capture, but then subject motion is not possible. Unless you are very sure that you will have a lot of bookings in your new business, you are probably better off starting with film. You may want to get a scanner in order to be able supply digital files to clients that want files. Or you can have a lab do this. For less demanding jobs, some photographers are using DSLRs and shift lenses.

If I remember right, the digital backs for LF are not specific to individual cameras, but they may require the use of specific lenses.

You should be able to rent all-digital LF systems. One of the Seattle shops is now exclusively digital, and they rent out a large number of digital LF cameras. Check Sinar's website, as they have at least a couple of digital configurations.