Is Problem the D70 or the Sandisk CF flash card?

brian_huntoon

I'm trying to figure out if my problem is with my D70, or my Sandisk Extreme III 1 GB Compact Flash card, or both. In the past, I've

experience the Blinking Green Light of Death, so I understand that. Nikon replaced parts of my camera for free after the BGLOD showed

up, and I have had about 2 1/2 years of trouble free experience since the free repair.

I was shooting an assignment recently when the screen gave a "CHA" error, and the camera became non-responsive, couldn't even turn

it off. I took the battery out, put it back in, and it took a few more photos, then locked up again. Not wanting to cause more problems, I

cut things short and went home to download the photos. About half the 130 or so photos were totally missing. There were all kinds of

crazy things with the file names, like switching from 58.jpg 58.NEF to the next image in sequence being 422.jpg and 422.NEF. Also,

crazy file extensions like .JTG and NMF. Some of these files I was able to open in Photoshop by changing the file extensions to jpg and

NEF; others wouldn't open. Some of the files with normal file names wouldn't open. Also had crazy file names for some images like

%56kj18.jpg. Some of these opened, some didn't.

I'm not concerned about retrieving the lost photos. I didn't tell the client what had happened, and they were very happy with the

photos I provided. I assumed the problem was with the D70, especially after my past Green Death Light experiences, so I called Nikon

technical support. The guy had me reset the camera using the single button on the base plate. It seemed to operate fine, and I fired off

and reviewed about 1500 test images, including shooting many with the remote control and the same 4 lenses, some manual, I had used

on the assignment when I had the problem. I used the remote, and the same media card as I did on the assignment (the Sandisk IGB),

to see if the problem would recur. It didn't.