Is it worth it to upgrade from 40D to 50D?

michaelsmiller

<p>I am a semi professional photographer who started with a 20D. I have been using a 40D for the past 2 years for my work and love it. I am looking to get a 2nd camera body for my weddings so I wanted some advice on an upgrade.<br>

I am not sure what is the best option, even with the exhaustive research I have done. I would love to hear some opinions from fellow photographers. I don't really have the money to go full frame right now(I plan to go this route within the next 2 years) and purchase all new lenses since I already have 8 or 9 EF/EFS lenses already. Is moving to a 50D a good move or would a 7D be a better upgrade?<br>

As an FYI, I shoot about 10 weddings per year, do mostly commercial(corp website photos, headshots, corp exec portfolios), and editorial modeling portfolios. I shoot outdoors for most of my portrait work and rarely use a studio unless it is for a client specific shoot. I love to shoot landscapes and really want to start doing more night photography(fireworks, full moons, very low light) so I want something that is better served for higher ISO.<br>

Any help is greatly appreciated. I understand it is only opinions but I want some other perspectives.<br>

Thanks<br>

Miller</p>

<p>Michael,</p>

<p>The key question that you need to answer is: what is it you consider lacking in the 40D that the

50D (or some other camera) would provide?</p>

<p>Answer that question and you should know whether or not to upgrade.</p>

<p>Cheers,</p>

<p>b&</p>