Is a Nikon d80 good enough to do weddings?

sean_brown4

Hi everyone this may seem like a daft question but please give your honest

opinions. I am a keen photographer and am considering turning pro. Assuming I

am up to the job as I believe I am, can you tell me do you think the nikon d80

is good enough as a primary camera for wedding photography? Also can you

recommend suitable flash equipment to go with the nikon. Thanks

D80 is sufficient as long as you can keep the ISO below 800. Above 800 the D80 (like all pre-D3/D300) Nikon's suffers from noise that some find unacceptable. Noise Ninja or other noise reduction packages can help, but then you lose detail.

Also, 1 camera is not sufficient for wedding work. You need a minimum of 2. (1 primary and 1 backup) The backup doesn't have to be the same model as the primary, although I suspect a lot of us do that. It should however be of the same system as the primary (ie Nikon / Canon / Pentax, etc...) and use the same accessories / batteries etc... Nothing is more embarrassing then having to tell a bride on her wedding day that you missed a shot because the camera died and you don't have a plan B or C or D.

Dave

Hi Sean,

If you're "up to the job" you will KNOW whether the D80 is "good enough as a primary

camera for wedding photography"....

But FYI: it is if the tog knows how to handle it. And get a Nikon flashgun. The bigger the

better. The SB800 is numero uno. Not cheap. But then you generally get what you pay for,

of course.

With the exception of http://abetterbouncecard.com/. It's more effective and efficient

than those tupperware 'spheres', 'tails' and other diffusors that cost an arm and a leg.

This one is a couple bucks and some elbow grease.

Have fun!

Hey there. I use a D70s and some of the images on my website were taken with my

trusty-dusty n50 that is over 10 years old. I guess what I'm getting at is it doesn't matter