Is a Hassy 500 still relevant today?

Discussion in 'Medium Format' started by david_waugh|3, Nov 19, 2008.

1. I should point out that I am not looking for a film v digital argument. I respect the views of the people in the forum, and simply wanted to
    gauge your views on how you see MF film today. Yeah we're all pretty sick of this kind of debate, but I have a more specific need for
    your thoughts :)

Of course there are many valid personal reasons to shoot film that have nothing to do with what most of the industry perceives as
    'quality'. But forgetting about these intangibles for a minute, does anyone here use their Hassy V's for pro/semi pro work?

I am a graphic designer that has always used photography as an adjunct to my design work, and have done a few pro gigs over time but
    mostly outsource photography. Because photography accounts for such a small part of my income, I sold my Nikon digital kit a couple
    of years ago, and have been either hiring or shooting film ever since (and I should point out, I simply love shooting film!)

I'm certainly not afraid of digital - I have worked as a high end retoucher on propriety systems since the late 80's, am an Adobe ACE,
    Aperture user and work on other people's D3 and 1Ds files every day of the week.

I guess I am like a lot of people here who derive some income from photography and there lies the issue... I bought a 500cm recently for
    90% emotional reasons (and I could finally afford one!), but 10% from the head thinking that it will be used professionally and for
    personal work on regular occasions.

So far, my results have been extremely ordinary. I shoot 400CN with a bit of Reala and Velvia. I had a preferred workflow organised
    where I would use the lab to process and scan the C12 stuff - assuming it would meet a reasonable quality standard but it's been