Is a Canon S2IS good enough for learning ?

navis

I am a beginner. I have a Canon S2 IS. Is it good enough to start, for a photography enthusiast.

Just now i am learning about adjusting the Aperture, Shutter Speeds and ISO. I tried a few shots and ended up in

fairly good exposures. But i do not get the colors, i get to see in the photos in this site. I used a photo editor and

changed the contrast and Sharpness. Then the image looked great.

Are most of the images in this site digitally enhanced ? (or) Will i get it on experience ? (or) Do i need a better

camera ?

The S*IS are good cameras and they have plenty of features to keep you busy while you are learning

the ropes. Don't worry too much about getting a new camera until you feel you're getting the most you

can out of yours. There are lots of amazing photos on this site that were done with cameras that are not

as good as an S*IS. A lot of photos are indeed enhanced, but I believe the ones that amaze you have

more than just contrast and sharpness adjusted. Experiment, take lots of photos, be self critical, ask for

critiques, and don't get upset over ratings (you can ask just for critiques).

Good luck!

I think you are asking two different questions.

Firstly, IMO there will be limitations you will encounter learning the craft on a Canon S2 IS.

That is not to say that good Photographs cannot be made with your camera, nor that you can not learn many things

about photography with it, especially composition basics and natural / hot lighting basics.

But, whilst not wishing to get you thinking negatively, I do think that you will be hampered with the following issues:

1. Shutter delay: this could be good and bad. You will need to anticipate the shot, especially for any action, like

sport and that can be very frustrating.

2. Flash: I believe you have the option of an add on flash as well as the pop up, but not the option of a dedicated