nancy_bueler

I recently took some interior shots of a friend's home, as a favour,

as she is trying to become a professional interior decorator. Most

of the shots turned out beautifully, but I was disappointed with the

shots where I was facing into the room, with the windows directly

ahead of me, behind the furniture. I bracketed, but they still came

out too dark, with the windows too bright. I know I should meter for

somewhere in the middle, but how do I expose properly for the room,

without making the windows look like big bright streaks of white?

She had shear curtains hanging in the windows, and I would like them

to look as nice as possible, while making sure the furniture is

properly exposed. Do I shine light into the room, towards the

windows, to counteract the sunlight? Do I simply use reflectors to

bounce the light back onto the furniture? I used Fuji NPH 160, which

I've never used before, and I was extremely happy with the grain and

texture of most of the shots. I know I should be using a 4X5 for

architectural photography, but right now the equipment is out of my

reach financially. I'm hoping to do more interior work, hopefully

professionally, so any help would be appreciated.

Nancy,

You have to balance the lighting inside the room with the light outside the windows. The best way to do this is to use strobe off camera. Either a bounce into a neutral colored ceiling or wall or a softbox placed to one side. I'm referring here to powerpack or monolight strobes, not on-camera flashes.

You can then use an f-stop for the strobe and the appropriate shutter speed for the outside light.

A more involved method, which is popular with cinema crews is to gel the windows with neutral density material. You can use regular ND material which is available in rolls or you can use warm ND material to color balance the daylight to interior tungsten light.