Indoor Newborn: 24-70 2.8L or 50 1.2L

ken_adams4

<p>I'm a professional wedding photographer. I use a couple of Canon 5D Mark III. We have our first child expected soon! :) Tons of new research and gear, I love it all. But, I'm really struggling on my main lens. For formal newborn shoots, I plan on setting up indoor natural light portraits for the little guy. I already have the 24-70 2.8L, and am reading a ton in a Newborn Photography book I bought about the 50mm 1.2L. Since I already have the 24-70, is the 50 1.2 worth it? 2.5X more stops is nice, of course, but would I even be shooting below 2.8? Cause if not, it's not worth it. Any other newborn photographers out there? Do you shoot wider than 2.8?</p>

<p>Congrats. If you have another lens at 50mm, I'd try one of those before laying out bucks on the 1.2. Shooting at 1.8 or 1.4 can be quite useful, and they're both reasonably priced and sized. (I use Nikon but I think similar enough for purposes of this discussion). Whether the difference in price is worth it for your uses / specific character of that lens is hard to say.</p>

Congratulations! As a professional photography you understand the benefits and challenges of using such a fast lens, so there is no reason to repeat them. Before I would spend so much on what is a specialty lens, I think it would make sense to rent it and compare the images to your standard (f1.4 or f1.8) 50mm, which I assume you already have. Perhaps also rent the Sigma 50 F1.4 and a Canon 85 f1.8, which may be reasonable and less expensive alternatives to the 50MM L. Best of luck with the birth of your child.

<p>Thank you both for the notes and the congrats :) We are SO excited!<br>