images blur when enlarged

tkess12

<p>Hello, I am a fairly new photographer, Can someone PLEASE tell me why my photos are crystal clear on my DSLR screen, clear when I download them, and even clear on proof paper or size 4x6. However, anything over that when I get my pictures back from the lab they are blurry. I cant sell a blurry 8X10 to my clients. HELP! I havent got a clue what to do.</p>

<p>Thanks a million<br>

Tracy Kessinger</p>

<p>This is a bit soft, even at the small size you posted. Is this the size image you are getting out of your camera? If so, you need to set your camera to output the largest size possible. In any event, I fixed the underexposure on your file and sharpened it as best I could. A small crop is posted to show you what I did.</p><div>00afO5-486121584.jpg.e8a04931026ca82bd3593060bbb7db91.jpg</div>

<p><strong>Tracy: </strong>Addendum. I looked at your images here at PN; every one was soft. Some were due to camera movement, but others had appropriate shutter speeds and were still soft. What sharpening software are you using?</p>

<p>Thank you. I have a canon rebel T2i and im not sure how to adjust the size but I can read the owners manual. I also realized that I am shooting in JPG instead of RAW which I was told was a no no. ? I photoshop a lot of my portraits before submiting them to print, Is there a way to increase the size that way or is it better to do it within my camera?</p>

<p>You have to output the largest file possible. Yes, RAW is better than JPEG, because you have much more information to work with in Photoshop. According to the review of your camera, the largest size (JPEG or RAW) is 5184 x 3456 pixels. <br>

<br>

Please don't take this wrong--you seem to have an eye, but you need more basic knowledge before you shoot for clients. You need to try to get the best possible image out of camera before you process it. This will give you much better final results.</p>