Image manipulation in Vuescan or in photoshop ?

Hi,

I'm a beginner who has just bought a CanonFS40000 scanner. I'm using

it with Vuescan software. It is not clear to me weather I should do

the image manipulation(contrast, color correction)in Vuescan or in

the Photoshop programme which I use as viewer. Does it make any

difference ? Thanks in advance for your views.

I agree with Ellis, but that's not to say that you should just punch the button in VueScan and take whatever comes out. You want a "neutral" scan, and that will virtually always mean you will be manipulating VueScan to set white and black points, and correct color casts.

While what Ellis says is generally easier, it isn't a good idea. If you leave your manipulation to post scan, you will usually end upwith a lower quality image. Adjusting white and black points, and making use of the "Lock Exposure" feature will allow you to obtain much better scans with a full histogram. If you choose to adjust these thing later in Photoshop, you'll see that your histogram becomes considerably stretched, indicated by the "spikes."

This also brings in why you might want to scan at 16 bit color (per channel). You have more information to work with and it'll result in a smoother image and you'll have a smaller chance of stretching your histograms too far.

Color correction is fairly easy to do in vuescan as well, and I suggest taking that route. Also check out the preset color adjustments he has, and try the film profiles (Kodak mainly). Some are more useful than others it seems.

When I do the initial, physical scan in Vuescan, I only save the raw file. I do no cropping (use maximum setting). Subsequently, I "Scan from Disk" using the raw files, cropping and doing adjustments as follows. In the case of color slide I do all my adjustments in Vuescan (except rotation), with b/w negs. I innvert, clip and convert to grey scale (and rotate as necessary) in photoshop.