I'm thinking of upgrading to another modern Nikon body...

jeff_z.

<p>I've been having some problems with my Nikon N6006's, and might finally replace them for serious use. The infamous film door latch recently broke on one. Also, and especially in pressure situations when reloading film, I seem to often have some trouble getting the film leader placed just right so that it will advance properly. It doesn't happen that often in decent light, but in dark concert settings, it's happened too frequently. My only other bodies are older F series, and I have no experience with any other modern Nikon bodies besides the N6006. I was especially wondering if there might be a more positive film loading mechanism in any of the following: the N8008s, N90s, F100?</p>

<p>Those are the bodies I've narrowed it down to because I think they all are capable of center-weighted metering with AI/AIS lenses, and also, for reasons of affordability. I'm also a bit intrigued with the F4's ability to matrix meter with these lenses, but at the same time, a bit put off by its weight as an all day camera, especially as I'm used to the N6006, which only weighs just a bit more than half of what an F4 seems to weigh, and occasionally I'll be carrying two bodies. I'm taking it for granted that they all have more durable film door latch mechanisms, but if any of them differ markedly in this respect, I'd love to know about that, too.</p>