Ilfosol3

jphotog

<p>Hi there,</p>

<p>I have started to shoot black and white film again after a break for almost 20 year. Thus, consider me a complete beginner.</p>

<p>I decided to limit myself to Ilford Pan F+ for tripod work and Ilford HP5+ for handheld to learn to appreciate the characteristics of those films before I move on.</p>

<p>The fact sheets from Ilford recommend Ilfotec DD-X (among others). I also fina a lot of praise on-line for the classic developers such as Rodinal, D-76 and ID-11 etc.</p>

<p>However, due to new regulations, my on-line store is reluctant to ship some of those across borders. Thus, they recommended me Ilfosol 3, which supposedly contain only harmless chemicals.</p>

<p>However, the on-line reviews seem mainly lukewarm or negative, mainly complaining about too high contrast.</p>

<p>For my purposes I consider the negative to be the analogue equivalent of a RAW file. Thus, I seek an optimum combination of sharpness, level of detail and dynamic range.</p>

<p>Does anyone on this forum have experience with Ilfosol 3?</p>

<p>Groet,</p>

<p>Jonas</p>

<p>No personal experience. I used Ilfosol-S several years ago and found it to be a very good developer for slow speed films, ISO 125 and slower.</p>

<p>There may be other developers that would pass muster for shipping but it may not be worth the aggravation to debate it with bureaucrats who are just doing a dreary job.</p>

<p>Regarding contrast, that's controlled through development. If it seems too high, just cut back on the developing time until you get the results you want. If the time seems uncomfortably short at the usual 20c temperature, lowering the temperature slightly can help give us a little more leeway for pour times to minimize the risk of uneven development.</p>