If you were me, what would you buy next?

ruth_grant

<p>Hi all,<br>

Thank you in advance for reading my question. I know questions like this are asked all the time, but I appreciate any advice you could give.<br>

I am not a professional photographer and I'm not sure I ever will be one, but I do love taking photographs and I know that good equipment goes a long way. I also don't buy new equipment very often so when I do upgrade, I don't mind paying a bit more because I plan to keep whatever it is for a long time.<br>

I also know that the best way to improve the quality of your photos is to read, learn and practice and I'm working on that. I feel that my equipment is holding me back somewhat though and that it should be a two-pronged approach: upgrade some equipment and then practice even more!<br>

I like taking pictures of everything and everything. When I'm at home in South Africa it's a lot of scenery and wildlife photography, where I live in Singapore it's a lot of street and "random" (for lack of a better word) stuff. My biggest challenge in Singapore is the F1 night race - after 2 consecutive years of not very good photos, I'm hoping for something spectacular this year.<br>

(BTW "random" = dogs, flowers, sunsets, clouds, people, etc)<br>

My budget - about $3000 for a new camera body and a new lens or lenses (but the longer I wait, the more I save and the bigger the budget!).<br>

This is what I have at the moment:</p>

<ul>

<li>Nikon D50</li>

<li>SB-600</li>

<li>Nikon 80-200mm f2.8 ED (old push-pull version)</li>

<li>Nikon 85mm f1.8</li>

<li>Nikon 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 ED (kit lens that came with the D50)</li>

<li>Sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6</li>

<li>Phoenix 19-35mm f3.5-4.5</li>

</ul>