ideal shutter speed / aperture / exposure setting in indoor and out door conditions.

<p>Hi!<br>

I am an amature photographer. I use a Nikon D60. I am unable get the cool effect on the pictures that I am clicking. I get this harsh light on the picture when taken outdoor. And lot of noise when taken indoor with out flash. Can any one suggest me on the ideal shutter speed / aperture / exposure setting in indoor and out door conditions.<br>

Thanks in advance,<br>

regards<br>

Vikram</p>

<p>Hi Vikram,</p>

<p>Its good to hear that you don't shoot with flash While shooting Indoors, flash flattens everything and the 3D effect gets dead (my opinion and taste, as I do lot of architectural photography).</p>

<p>While shooting indoors, the tripod and cable release or a remote should be used to get sharp pictures. As you said you get a lot of noise, that is because you are using auto ISO and maximum shutter speed so the pictures get a lot of noise because your D60 uses higher ISO at the speed you set and is not as greater at higher ISO as the D700 or D3 are.</p>

<p>For getting minimum noise you should set your camera at ISO 200 and than use the tripod to ignore any motion blur possible because when you will use a lower ISO like 200 or 400, you won't get sufficient speed to handle your camera in your hands and hand held will definitely get some blurs. Hand held shooting needs more practice and luck in low light shooting.</p>

<p>I think you will normally get shutter speed between 1/15 to 1/90 in different interior low light conditions at the lowest possible ISO.</p>

<p>Lenses are also concerned here and I think your are using kit lenses which are also not capable to handle low lights in hands.</p>

<p>For exteriors there shouldn't be any problem in Auto mode. The thumb rule for bright sunny day scene is shutter speed 1/125 @ f8 with ISO 100 speed. If your camera meter says the same like this than the shot should come out okay.</p>