ID-11; D-76

ken_kuzenski

<p>I haven't found this on the web in a few quick searches; maybe someone here can advise me. After a few years of shooting no film, I dragged out the medium format gear a few months ago. I'm having a world of fun, but I'm on new ground. Since the early 1990s, I shot only TMX and TMY with T-max developer. On my return to B&W a few months ago, I started shooting FP4 and HP5 and developing it in ID-11. I love the skin tones I've been getting with this combination, and it seems nice for my pre-dawn shooting (link below.) But the ID-11 kit makes 5 liters, and as an American, it would be easier for me to use a one-gallon stock solution. Like D-76, for instance.</p>

<p>I've been using the ID-11 at 1:3 dilution, one shot, using 20 minutes for both FP4 and HP5. This is with two 120 rolls in a developing tank. Every source I see says that D-76 and ID-11 are basically the same chemicals. But I haven't found a source yet saying that one-time use at 1:3 dilution and 20 minutes of development is right for HP4/FP5 in D-76.</p>

<p>Is anybody familar with this combination? Am I on safe ground using the same time/dilution? Many thanks in advance! --ken<br>

http://people.duke.edu/~kuzen001/npav309_LR.jpg</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Ilford calls for slightly shorter times for FP4+ and HP5+ in D-76 (1+3) than for ID-11 (1+3). They call out ID-11 (1+3) for maximum sharpness. I'd agree with that, you will have no solvent effect from the sodium sulfite in the developer, which will lead to a sharp image, but with rather more defined (crisp) grain than ID-11 straight up. At full strength, the sodium sulfite blurs the grain some, making it less evident, but at a cost of sharpness.<br>

Both data sheets are on their website.<br>

They don't give HD curves for different developers and dilutions in these data sheets, but this dilution will certainly give a different HD curve, and thus different tonality.</p>