I want to upgrade my equipment

athansios_retzonis

Hi from Greece !

I am an amateur and I want to upgrade my equipment so I need your advice.

The lenses I own are :

Canon 24-105 mm F4 L IS, Canon 70-200mm F4 L (non IS) .

I intend to change the 24-105mm with Canon 28-70mm F2.8 L ( I found one used).

I dont have the money to go for Canon 70-200mm F2.8L IS so I am looking for a

prime lens for portraits. I know than the Canon 135mm F2 L is a very good lens

and I can aford the money.

I want your opinion .

I also have the Canon 5D.

Me, too.

Seriously, what you have now is excellent gear, so it's not so much "upgrade", as it is "what's next to let me take photos that I can't do so easily with what I now have?". The 135/2 will be a new capability, no question about it. I have both the 24-105L and 24-70L, so I can't recommend selling one to get the other, unless you really want handheld portability over all of the larger-aperture benefits (or vice-versa).

I would not sell the 24 to 105F4L to buy a used 28 to 70F2.8L.

I would sell the 24 to 105F4L to buy a used 24 to 70F2.8L in excellent condition, that, to me would be an `upgrade`, as you term it.

I would not like to loose 4mm at the wide.

The 135F2 is the ant`s pants: I want one too, for my 5D.

I have tested a 135F2L.

Take 20 frames (sorry, actuations) and you are just gone, it is like fine wine: hooked forever, and IMO 135 is just a perfect FL for portraits (which is a personal opinion as opposed to the factual information about being hooked).

The 85 F1.8 mates well with the 135F2L for portraiture, I have that lens too.

WW

>>> I need a fast portrait lens for indoor . I think that there is a big difference between F4 and F2.8 so thats why i want to upgrade <<<

I am a little confused: the above quote refers to buying the used 28 to 70F2.8L, I assume.