I need advice on pricing head shots.

shelley_doss

<p>Hello there. I am a college photography student, graduating soon. I was asked to take some head shots but am not too sure what to charge. Though I am a student, I have plenty of experience shooting portraits and with lighting (studio and natural). I feel confident in taking the photos and doing a good job. I will probably shoot for 30 min to an hour I am guessing. Plus editing. How much would you charge for that? I have some ideas in my head but I just want to get some other opinions. Thanks!</p>

<p>What did you charge for the Baby Portraiture and the Model Portfolio in 2013?<br>

Have you had any other paying Clients except those two - if so what was your pricing structure for those jobs?<br>

What are your ideas on the price you should charge for this job and the reasons for that pricing?<br>

As asked of you previously - please describe your local market: for example you'll likely charge more in a big city than a small rural town.</p>

<p>WW</p>

<p>I believe I charged around $50 - $75 for those as I was just starting out. Recently, I have done a few photoshoots ranging from $100 - $250 depending on the event.</p>

<p>I was thinking $100 for this job. I live in a fairly large city but the photo market is not particularly bustling. I feel that $100 would be sufficient for the amount of work involved. But I just wanted some opinions.</p>

<p>OK. Thank you for answering.</p>

<p>Based upon that (limited) information and few assumptions by me (i.e. your based in the USA and we are discussion US$; your work is a good standard; and you are dedicated to do your best), then I think that $100 is at the lower price scale for someone with your background, experience and skill for a 30mins to 60mins shoot and the editing to process deliverables.</p>