I am gonna buy a camera,need your help..

greg_fokker

Hello

I am thinking to buy a good camera.I am a beginner and i dont have

much knowledge about cameras.I am going to spend 500-600 euro for it

and until now i have 2 choices.

1-Nikon F55 and Canon EOS Rebel TI

I like to take photos,i need something quality and which is not too

complicated.If you have any other recommendations for me,please write

it.

Thank you

Couldn't you get an F80 for that amount of money? The F65 and F80 offer quite a lot of features for the money.

If you just want to put the camera in program mode and fire away, the F55 will be fine. It will also let you work in other modes to expand your understanding of photography. Compared to other Nikons, it lacks flexibility in flash options and in lens choices... but if you're sure you won't want to pour more money into a Speedlight or the more expensive NIkkor lenses, that absence of flexibility will not hurt.

Have fun,

Greg,

The minimum camera I would recommend in the Nikon line is the F80/N80. If possible I�d go for a F100 or an FM3a. A friend who repairs cameras has seen a number of number of N65(s) with broken latches requiring a new camera back. He says the backs are always on backorder. If you go with a Canon product I move up the product line a similar number of models.

I would not buy any camera with a single command dial interface. Actually if you want a simple to operate camera that gives full control an FM3a is really easier to use than most any AF model unless you set the AF up as a P&S. The problem with cameras such as the F100 and F5 is they have so many features, modes and custom settings that one must be careful as the camera may be try to be "helpful" with auto-functions when you really don�t want them. The N80 is quite close to the F100 in this respect.

The FM3a is just easier to use. I own several FE2(s) which are the FM3a closest siblings in the Nikon line. I also own an F100 and F5.

Hope this helps,