How to write an introduction mail to a potential client?

alan_kovarik

I am starting out with photography business, I think I have a nice portfolio and a few clients, but I want to get more clients. So I put together a list of potencial clients I want to contact I would like to write them an email first. I want to ask you, how would you wrote an introduction mail to possible client? I suppose "Hi, I am a photographer. I have an experience in event photography and I want to work with you. Look at my portfolio." wouldnt be enough, because they most likely recieve many boring mails like this :) How would you attract their attentions? Thanks for any tips ;)

I am surely not the only one who would consider unsolicited e-mail of this sort "SPAM" and with the settings I have, it would probably go direct to the trash without my ever seeing it.

I wish I knew how to answer your underlying question of how to get people's attention these days.

Not to be obnoxious about this, but whatever you send needs to be proof read first. Potential, not potencial... Business solicitation e-mail that I get that does make it through my spam filter gets dumped immediately if it is ungrammatical or has misspelled words. My assumption is that literacy and competence are related, based on past experience.

I'd be inclined to print some images 4x6 with your information and link to your portfolio, tailoring the image to the particular business you are contacting and use snail mail. The more specific information you use to address the card, the better chance of result. Tag line Alan Kovarik Photography to meet your needs. Rates on request, available for meetings or via internet. A bit of research and work,low cost, and a way to get things started.

Though I am not in "business", I carry business cards I made on photos I have taken with contact information overlaid.