How to take a large group photo of 700+ people?!

<p>So I'm a beginner photographer (been doing it for about 2 years now) and this is my first time doing something like this. My church is having an event next sunday where they want to take a picture of the whole congregation since they will be wearing their nations colors (for the world cup). Anyways they asked me to help them take the picture but I seriously need help.</p>

<p>I have a Canon 5D m3 and will be probably be using my Tamrom 28-70mm lens. I have 2 flashes.</p>

<p>We are probably going to take the picture at about 12pm eastern time. The sun will be at it's highest point. I'm really hoping it will be a cloudy day so I don't have to deal with shadows or squinting of eyes but I guess I can't control the weather. I'm going to be standing on a ladder to get everyones face. We are going to arrange kids in the front since they are the shortest and men in the back since they are the tallest. They also want the church's building to be visible in the back (not sure if that would be possible). The space shouldn't be a problem at least I don't think so.</p>

<p>I need help! I've never done something like this and I kind of have an idea of what I want to do but I really need help from someone that maybe has done something like this or has more experience. They want to blow up the picture to like a wall size, maybe like 10'x5'. HELP :/</p>

<p>Hi Daniel, I think you'll probably need to get much higher than a stepladder to cover 700+ people; ignoring for the moment the need to include the church. </p>

<p>The problem isn't so much with coverage, but that a lower perspective will render folks at the back much smaller than those at the front - assuming you have them lined up in a grid of roughly 30x25. </p>