how to scan 4x5 slide by epson 3200

vincent_lau

Dear all,

I have just bought a Epson photo 3200 and was able to scan document

using it. But when I try to scan a 4X5 slide, I cannot get the image

from the silde. I try ti understand the user guides but I still have

the following problem:

1. Does it need a film holder ( included ) for positive slides?

( they talk about films with base face down? what films (

slide/negative), ?which side is the base in negative and slide?)

2. Do I need to enter some sort of software before scanning. i.e.

sliver fast/or adobe, or I just chick on the icon of epson scan and

use the professional mode.

I am new to digital, and still have a lot to learn.

thank you all

Yes, you need to use the film holder (otherwise you'll get newton rings, plus centering a 4x5 without the holder would be tricky).

I've scanned slides (35mm, MF and 4x5) with both silverfast and the epson driver (non-automated mode), both called from within Photoshop SE, and I've had good results.

Make sure that you select "transparency" mode, which will light up the back of the scanner. You need to close the scanner, and you need to make sure that you don't have anything between the light and the back.

First of all, you need to install the software that comes with the scanner before even connecting the unit to your computer. Epson has made it very clear by covering the ports with tape and big warning signs. But you seem to have Epson scan already installed. You can use that, or the Silverfast program.

The medium/large format film holder has a place for a 4x5 negative or transparency. There is also a sign (with an inverted F) to show which way to put the transparency. This is based on you holding it in your hand right way up. The side that you are looking at will go down towards the glass bed.